Good job, asshole

What was the best compliment you’ve received?

This prompt upsets me. I’m struggling to remember a compliment. Being told ‘Good job!’ is my gut response but that’s not exactly a compliment. I’m very focused on actions speaking louder than words so I’m kinda hung up on people recognizing my work. It’s probably a pathological thing I should speak to my therapist about.

‘Nice jacket!’ That’s a compliment I guess.

Did you get a haircut? Handsome!’

‘You have good manners!’

The only compliment I care about is ‘good job’. When my kids tell me I’m a good dad, that feels good. But is it a compliment?

Maybe I think compliments are stupid? That might be what I think.

About rootwood

Writer - Animator - Artist
This entry was posted in manifesto and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment